RE-ISSUED & REMASTERED SOUND is OUT NOW on CD, Double Heavyweight Vinyl and Digital. Our fourth album, it features contributions from Earl 16, Brinsley Forde and MC Det with lyrical input from Don Letts, who also coined the album title and has written sleeve notes for this new re issue. It’s also notable for the first appearance of MC Spee on the opening tune Return of the Dread. This remastered release features bonus remixes from Soul of Man and Drumattic Twins.

Townsend (Signed CD & Vinyl) –
Record Store
Amazon CD –
Amazon Vinyl –
iTunes –



  1. Return of the Dread
  2. Crazy Knowledge
  3. Mean Old World
  4. Black Rock and Roll
  5. Straight to a Soundboy
  6. Digital Mastermind
  7. Different Planets
  8. Dread’pon Sound
  9. Believing In It
  10. The Last Dance
  11. Crazy Knowledge (Soul of Man remix)
  12. Believing In It (Drumattic Twins remix)




  1. Return of the Dread
  2. Crazy Knowledge
  3. Mean Old World
  4. Black Rock and Roll


  1. Straight to a Soundboy
  2. Digital Mastermind
  3. Different Planets


  1. Dread’pon Sound
  2. Believing In It
  3. The Last Dance


  1. Crazy Knowledge (Soul of Man remix)
  2. Believing In It (Drumattic Twins remix)

2015 is properly up and running now with the highly anticipated FIRE IN THE DARK release OUT NOW, after gaining 180k hits on UKF the Teddy Killerz awesome remix spearheads this package which includes mixes from Bazil and King Dread.

The EP is out now via itunes HERE and with a limited number of signed 12” Vinyl HERE.

Also, to mark 21 years of Dreadzone, here is a mix that links the more dancefloor sounds of dread together in a chronological order to tell our story from house and techno through to breaks and dubstep featuring remixes from the likes of Underworld, William Orbit, Soul of Man and Trolley Snatcha. Listen now

Greetings from the zone..

As we move into the final week of a fantastic autumn/winter tour connecting with all the dread massive we are reminded of previous years of escapades on the road and still keeping it as exciting as ever, joining the dots between the festival field and the dance halls up and down the country on a never ending road of life love and unity.

It’s been a great year for shows, no releases but… We do have some great things lined up for the start of next year – ‘Fire in the Dark’ as a second single release from Escapades with some killer remixes – a mighty Teddy Killerz mix which is already blowing up on UKF with nearly 100k hits in ten days LISTEN HERE

Dreadzone’s very own Bazil dropping a deep bass dnb roller and King Dread (aka Greg Dread and King Yoof) with a ‘rumours riddim’ reggae mix. Along with a radio edit it will be on vinyl and digital from 25 Jan 2015 – you can pre order your copy HERE

We will follow this with a re-issue release of our 2001 album Sound especially remastered with bonus tracks which will be available on vinyl cd and digital. We have been dropping some tunes from this album in the set and plan to put some more in as we continue to refresh the live show which starts again at the end of February, dates and links are below

The Dreadzone Soundsystem shows take over as usual in the first part of the year with shows in Prague, London and the south west, some with Earl 16 joining us. We have a new page for the Dreadzone Soundsystem with details of all the shows which start with a pre Christmas party on the 23rd December in Malvern and then a double header on New years Eve in Plymouth and Bristol, Info HERE

So another year comes to a close with so many happy memories of 2014..big ups from all in the Zone – Spee, Leo, Earl, Bazil, Chris, Loki, Simon, Thom, and myself .. We would like to wish everyone a very Happy Christmas and a great New Year !

Greg x

Sat 28 GUILDFORD Boileroom   TICKETS
Thu 5 BRIGHTON Concorde 2   TICKETS
Fri 6 FALMOUTH Princess Pavilion   TICKETS
Sat 7 EXETER Phoenix   TICKETS
Fri 13 STROUD Sub Rooms   TICKETS
Fri 20 KENDAL Brewery Arts Centre   TICKETS
Sat 21 BURY The Met   TICKETS
Fri 10 BILSTON The Robin 2   TICKETS
Sat 11 POOLE Mr Kyps   TICKETS
Sat 18 HITCHIN Club 85   TICKETS

After a great summer festival season including some amazing shows at Glastonbury, Larmer Tree, Beautiful Days and more, this week sees the start of our proper Autumn tour which will take us up to the end of the year.

We started with a return to Ireland to take in a couple of shows in Cork and Galway last week then this week the mainland lifts off with Sub89 in Reading and Rock City Nottingham and will continue with shows up and down the country.

Ten more UK shows before festival season begins for us in May. Check out the live dates page for a full list of where we’re going to be over the coming months – shows include return visits to Brighton, Croydon and Holmfirth. We’re going to be playing at a few UK festivals this Summer (more to be announced) and heading into Europe as well.

Happy New Year……..part two of the Escapades tour starts next month in London at the Jazz Cafe on 13 February and then takes the band to Paris and Amsterdam before shows around the UK. Hope to see you somewhere along the way. Check out the live dates page for full list of where we’re going to be plus festivals announced so far that we’ll be at this Summer.


*Photo by Sarah Read

As we move into November the Escapades tour is fully underway with packed houses and happy bouncing people. As well as our new album we are also celebrating 20 years of Dreadzone this year and have marked this by making a short film with Scratch Pictures, the same team behind our ‘Too Late’ video with Mick Jones

The new film features interviews, footage and music covering our beginnings and progression through Dreadzone history and up to the present day, well worth 10 minutes of your time….

After a fantastic album launch show at the Scala in London two weeks ago we kick off this week in Wolverhampton for the road part of the Escapades Autumn tour with over half of the new album featuring in the set alongside old favourites and revamped classics. All dates and info can be found HERE.

We will have the new album for sale alongside a range of cool new t shirts and other CD releases available to buy at the shows. Escapades, our 7th studio album, was released in September with a new single Too Late featuring Mick Jones. More information is here in this short trailer HERE

Our new studio album Escapades is out now. Made at Mick Jones’ studio and Dread Central in West London it sees the return of founder member Tim Bran who has co-produced the album. The 10 track album features Mick Jones on ‘Too Late’ and vocalist Lena Cullen on two. The album is released on CD, Vinyl and to download and you can order now from HERE OR download the deluxe digital copy from iTunes HERE and get 4 exclusive remixes.
1. Next Generation
2. Man In A Suit
3. I Love You Goodbye
4. Rise Up
5. On My Way
6. Fire In The Dark
7. Too Late
8. Roosevelt High
9. Places
10. Music of The Spheres